These days, dinner parties are a pain in the butt to plan. Your best friend is following a gluten-free diet, your roommate is Paleo, your girlfriend’s new squeeze is vegan, and your neighbor just informed you that he’s avoiding sugar. Sounds like quite a dinner!
We can’t help you with the food, but we can help you with the booze. Whether your guests are on the latest fad diet or have (legitimate) allergies, here’s what you can safely serve them to get them drinking and to avoid the lecture about how sugar is a secret killer.
Sure, there’s gluten-free beer. But your guests and your taste buds deserve better. Although some people raise concerns about wine being aged in barrels sealed with flour paste or refined with products containing gluten, most experts agree that people with gluten sensitivities should be fine drinking wine. If you are concerned, ask the winemaker.
You can also serve rum, tequila, or potato vodka. Although the Alcohol and Tobacco Tax and Trade Bureau says that most gluten is removed from gin, whiskey, and vodka during the distillation process, some experts say to play it safe and avoid those liquors.
Pour one out for the cavemen: Alcohol isn’t Paleo, according to Loren Cordain, Ph.D., founder of the movement. Our ancestors may have created fire, but they didn’t create distilleries or practice fermentation, according to some experts, though this, too, is debated. Cordain says moderate alcohol consumption is O.K. occasionally. He recommends wine or spirits, while Robb Wolf, author of “The Paleo Solution,” likes the NorCal Margarita: two shots of tequila, the juice of one lime, and a splash of soda.
Many people don’t realize that hard liquor doesn’t have any carbs. It’s the sugary mixers you have to worry about. Whether your guests prefer gin, rum, tequila, vodka, or whiskey, each has 0 carbs per ounce. Mix with diet soda or diet tonic and fresh lemon or lime juice.